Tackle Talk Golden Perch and Cod Gear

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author

mitchmcm
    Participant

I have been fishing for cod and golden perch for more than a few years now and im wanting a bit more of a challenge. I have read a fair portion of the limited information available but its difficult to get a consolidated answer on the fly gear for these species. I’m wanting to know what weight and length rods and specifically models. It seems like 10wt 8ft rods but i have no idea where to start for goldens? lines and reels? I also want to target them in float tubes so what float tubes are hardy and best designed for flowing rivers.

I will be fishing rivers only at this stage and maybe Mulwala. So casting distances of no more than 10m i’d say.

Cheers.

freestone
    Participant

The types of flies (bulkiness, weight, air resistance) that you will be casting for these species will largely determine the lines you will need. Generally speaking you will need high mass lines to effectively deliver these flies (lines like Rio outbound short or Rio Big Nasty will get the job done). And you will need a heavier rod (more like a 9 to 10 weight) to effectively cast these lines for cod.  You could scale back a bit for golden perch, maybe a 7 to 8 weight rod – the flies will be not as big as cod flies but still big.

Reels are easy.  Most of your battles with these species will be done in hand to hand combat, rather than off the reel.  So all you require in a reel will be substantial storage capacity for the very bulky lines you will be using. You will not need a reel with a tuna stopping drag.