Travel Talk Gippsland in Autumn

Viewing 14 posts - 1 through 14 (of 14 total)
  • Author

mjfriso
    Participant

Hi All,

I’m looking to do some day trips to Gippsland this autumn, but I have no experience fly fishing in this area save for a single trout caught last year on the Loch river.

I had a fairly unsuccessful day on the Tanjil and Thompson last weekend and am thinking I may try Bunyip or Tarago rivers this Saturday.

Any recommendations?

Thanks,

Marc

Scotty45
    Participant

Hi Marc. If you find you can extend a trip to 2 or more days, you might consider Buenba Ck, (N/east of Benambra). I’ve just arrived home from 4 days there, & had a ball catching 40 plus fish. They’re not huge, my biggest was 30cm. Most in the 15-22cm range, but very fiesty & happy to take a #16 Royal or grizzly Wulff. I’d have hooked more with size 18 or 20 flies. It wasn’t unusual to spot up to 6 fish holding one pool. Good camping areas too, & not too far from the Gibbo River for a change of scenery……..Scotty.

Matt H Gippsland
    Participant

Hi
    Not much happening in the Tarago or bunyip as yet. We have not had much rain and flows are low and slow. I would have gone tanjil tarrago or Latrobe if travel from melbourne is limited.

mjfriso
    Participant

Thank you both for your replies.

Matt, do the Tarago and Bunyip improve as we get closer to winter?

Matt H Gippsland
    Participant

They both will but will need some good rain to get the rivers moving the Tarago is the better river but the water board are letting stuff all water out so it may be even later than normal.

Fitz
    Participant

You would think…..

…but no.
    Tanjil.
    Saw only one rising fish all day, caught on a barbless, my first time using one. Water is a lot cooler after the last weeks cold nights. Not really much in the way of a hatch.
    Beautiful day though, lovely sunset on the way home.

Matt H Gippsland
    Participant

And the fish length was?

Fitz
    Participant