Tackle Talk First saltwater rod / reel help

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author

djpalmer88
    Participant

Hey all, I’m basically a complete beginner when it comes to fly fishing. had a guided day fishing trout in the blue mountains which was great, but was hoping to do some fly fishing closer to home, like Lane Cove / Pittwater in Sydney.

For this kind of estuary fishing I’m guessing a 8wt would be suitable? I assume it wouldn’t be worth going any lower?

I’ve been keeping an eye on used rods but nothing much has come up. Also been looking at TFO & Primal Rods. Can anyone recommend a rod / reel combo to start off with? As for a budget I’m not really sure, to be honest something mid ranged, I’d like to one day spend a bit more on something smaller for trout fishing.

Cheers.

dynaflow
    Participant

The Primal Mega Salt is cracking value at $495.The 6wt.(which comes with a fighting butt) would be ideal for estuary fishing for your target species of Flathead/Bream etc.but an 8wt.wouldn’t be out of place.Similarly the Redington Behemoth reels offer big bang-for-your-buck.They have large arbors that come in handy for fast line retrieval.The 5/6 size for a 6wt.rod and 7/8 for an 8wt.I’d also consider asking for pre-loved gear on this forum or the Australian Salt Water forum.Good luck!

djpalmer88
    Participant

Awesome thanks dynaflow, that’s good to know. I’ve been a few hours late on a couple of second hand 6wt salt setups so I’ll keep trying. Cheers.

Chris Beech
    Participant

It depends on what fish you are chasing. Bream, whiting, flathead bass etc a #6 is ok. But not so much when it’s windy, or you’re out chasing salmon and tailor, kingies and small tuna or casting bigger flies. Then you’ll need an #8 weight at least. Start with the rod weight you will use the most and build from there. A 7 is a good compromise.