Flies & Fly Tying Can’t tie wings for nuts on a wet fly

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 26 total)
  • Author

Rowboat
    Participant

Hello, I’ve tried a lot and watched a few videos but I cannot get the wings right on my attempts at a wet fly. They are either crooked or one side folds in, or the feather falls apart. I might be using the wrong part of the feather or any number of things. I suspect my method is completely wrong from the get go. I am just learning and I know I am making plenty of mistakes … crowding the eye and some thing too long etc but I would mostly appreciate some guidance on the wings. … how to select the correct part of the feather and how to actually tie them in straight and even, and anything else constructive you might think helpful. Rob

ps, I’d like to add a pic but I don’t see anywhere I can do that.

pps, I found the attachment part !!

jimmyellenberger
    Participant

Ah come on Rob… thats not completely disgusting, a bit agricultural perhaps but you are getting the idea. I am thinking that you might try to get things understood by going up a few hook sizes. Wee wets are all well and good, but they do take a bit of finesse. I was nearly driven mad by the tented wings on a Lady Caroline till some clever sod told me some tricks. I know it sounds a bit over the top but there really are left hand(wing) and right hand feathers, so maybe look a bit closer at that reality and its implications.

With a bit of luck some genuinely talented blokes will jump online about now to help you out… Lord knows I am well down the list compared to a lot of others on this forum. JC does flippin good wings…

Cheers… Jimmy

Rowboat
    Participant

Thanks Jimmy … Yes the hooks are #14 in this case. Perhaps I’ll try a #10. I tried the tip of a feather on another one and the thing kept turning and I couldn’t get it to sit flat on top of the hook. Rob

DrGraham
    Participant